217 days….

We were all back at school today.

A bit of a rush for uniforms and lunch boxes, but we got there in plenty of time….  and a perfectly placed phone call from the secretary asking if I could do a contract just as I’d entered the staff room had us laughing at the irony.

I’ve got a cushy month lined up (Year 3, with the actual classroom teacher in the room 3 days a week and an intern teacher on final internship).  They need me because the actual teacher hurt her arm and is on restricted duties and can’t work for long periods … but who can organise stuff and ensure that the kids who usually like to mess with supply teachers are held in check.

That’s for at least the next 4 weeks and then I’m booked to teach “my boys” for the last 3 weeks of term.  Yeehar.

AND the student teacher is doing a unit of Forces and energy as part of her prac and wants the kids to make moveable toys…. so your land yacht will get a demo (NOT to be played with though).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We had dinner at Mum and Dad’s tonight.  Mum is travelling down to see P&M et al for 10 days, leaving me in charge of Dad and Nana … so I hope they both behave themselves while Mum is away.

I felt quite sad driving home though – two Really beautiful-but-sad songs came on the radio while I was driving home: “Mad World” by Gary Jules and “One of us” by Joan Osborne.

A bit of a cry later and we were home.

I miss you so very much.

I’d give anything for a hug from you.

I love you.

XA

